Self-Reflection: Interview Day

Last Friday Friday my Storytelling through Multimedia class here at HSI had an interview day. These interviews were the first step in creating a personality profile on another student here in class. Overall I think that it was a very good experience. I found that I was actually a lot more comfortable as the interviewer than as the person being interviewed. I feel that a lot of us are probably very similar in that way because we have no problem asking others about their lives but we often are very uncomfortable talking about ourselves. This is not always the case but that is just what I noticed. The best part of the experience was being able to feel in control as the interviewer and getting to know more about a friend. There was not necessarily a bad part of this experience but there were some rough periods of time where I either couldn’t think of what to say or I couldn’t remember what I was going to ask. From this experience I learned how to listen just a little bit better and I just further improved my speaking skills. The only advice that I would give to people about interviewing is to always ask if there is anything else. Also, if you are asked this question than make sure to give a good response. Don’t hold anything back that you are urged to say, the information you provide might prove useful to the interviewer. Although I did not learn a great deal I think interviewing is a great thing to practice because it could be useful in future careers or even just increase your conversational skills. So just keep talking. That is all.

One thought on “Self-Reflection: Interview Day

  1. Interviewing does help improve our listening and speaking skills. I’m glad you improved those skills a little with this exercise. And, I’m the same way as you; I’m so used to being the interviewer and asking questions that when it comes to talking about myself, it gets harder.

Leave a comment